Easy Pizza Casserole

Okay, here’s the low down before we get down.  This was a HUGE hit with my family.  The boys said “best ever” and The Big Guy went back for seconds, but may have overdone it.  I asked him if his eyes were bigger than his stomach – he said no, my taste buds!

With that in mind, I’ll tell you what I would change AFTER you’ve seen the recipe, so there’s no spoilers!

Pizza Casserole

from my webcam (again)

Tons of layers here, so stay with me.

  • 1 bag Egg Noodles (doesn’t say what size)
  • 1 XL jar of your favorite tomato sauce or pizza sauce (I recommend something bigger than 24 oz – it looks like she used a 2 pounder)
  • 3 cups (24 oz) shredded mozzarella cheese (I just eyeballed it)
  • 1 1/2 lb ground hamburger
  • 1 package pepperoni

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Your first steps are to cook the noodles according to the package and drain; thoroughly cook the hamburger; drain fat/grease if you want (I didn’t). After that, it’s all LAYERS!

Layer 1: thin covering of tomato sauce on bottom of casserole dish.
Layer 2: 1/2 the noodles
Layer 3: 1/2 the meat
Layer 4: 1/2 remaining sauce
Layer 5: other 1/2 of noodles
Layer 6: 1/2 the cheese (1 1/2 cups)
Layer 7: remaining 1/2 of meat
Layer 8: remaining sauce
Layer 9: remaining 1/2 of cheese
Layer 10: cover the whole dish with pepperoni

  • Cover with foil and bake for 30 minutes
  • Remove foil and bake for another 15 minutes
  • Let sit for 10 minutes before serving – to let things settle

Now, as I said, there are a few things I’d like to change the next time I make this dish:

First off, I think the bag of Egg Noodles I bought was too much (16 oz).  If I can find one that is a little less, I’m going to jump on it.

Second – and I don’t have a thing against using hamburger meat – I would definitely use sausage in it’s place.  It would take the casserole to a whole new level of flavor.

Lastly, I’d also add another kind of cheese mixed with the mozzarella, something with a bolder taste.  I’ll let you know when I figure that out.

Enjoy! It’s the new “pizza night”.

Leave a Reply

