Vegan Peanut Butter Ice Cream

I thought, since I was already making a cake from scratch, I might as well make some ice cream to go with it.  And what better flavor to go with an all chocolate cake than creamy peanut butter?

This one is vegan – vegetarian… whatever.  I’m unclear on all that encompasses being a vegan or vegetarian… just the basics, so if I’m wrong about this recipe, please feel free to correct me. I’m always up to learning something new!

Here we go:

Peanut Butter Ice Cream (with a hint of chocolate)

(have the ice bowl of your ice cream maker sit in freezer at least overnight)

 

  • 2 14.5 ounce cans light coconut milk*
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Pinch of salt

 

*can use thick soy milk or even soy creamer

This is the vanilla base. From there, you can make any number of flavors.  Here’s what I added:

 

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter 
  •  3 tbsp cocoa powder

Mix all the ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.  Add per your ice cream maker’s instructions.  Chill in freezer at least 2 hours, or overnight.

It’s delicious!  You can’t even tell it’s not made with cream.  In fact, I think I’ll be making ALL my ice cream with coconut milk from now on!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

