Slow Cooker Pizza Mac

Don’t forget to sign up to get the latest dish from Someone Else’s Genius.  It gets mighty lonely in here, talking to myself.

For tonight’s culinary delight, I decided to forgo the recipe and get creative.

For the record, I made this and put it in the slow cooker for a few hours, thinking “Hey, I’ve made a few like-minded recipe lately.  I got this!”  Unfortunately this recipe should NOT have sat in the slow cooker… at all… for any amount of time.  Guess I didn’t “have it” after all.  But I know how to fix it!  So I will give you the “fixed” version.

(By the way, it still got all thumbs up from the kids – so the idea’s a keeper) I mean, c’mon!  Kids love pizza, kids love mac n cheese, thus Pizza Mac n Cheese is born.

Pizza Mac n Cheese

What you’ll need:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp ground mustard
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 cups milk (whole is best, but I used 1%)
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 16 oz elbow macaroni
  • 1 package pepperoni slices

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

  1. Cook macaroni as directed on package, using minimum cook time; drain and set aside
  2. In a medium saucepan, melt butter over low heat; add flour and whisk until thoroughly combined.  Add ground mustard and garlic powder
  3. Slowly add in milk, constantly stirring; turn the heat up to medium and bring to a boil for 1 minute, still stirring.
  4. Add cheddar cheese and half the mozzarella; stir until smooth
  5. Incorporate cooked macaroni to cheese sauce.
  6. Pour into an appropriate-sized casserole dish (you do not need to grease, but you can); Top with remaining mozzarella; cover with a layer of pepperoni
  7. Cook for 10-15 minutes or until bubbly and top layer of cheese is melted.

For dessert, I made a batch of the PB S’mores Bars – in the same size dish as last time, but this time I doubled the recipe.  This time it worked!  I’ll be posting my pictures on that post when I take it out of the fridge!

I’m 100% sure I’m not the first to create this recipe and I probably won’t be the last mom to think the 2 would go well together without looking at a recipe, so I will humbly take the credit for this culinary masterpiece and hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

