Delicious Chocolate Heath Bar Cookies

If you’re following along on Facebook, you’ll know this already; for those who haven’t joined us yet, after a trip to a local health food store, I came home with organic cocoa powder… Not what I went in for, but I still needed to replenish my pantry stock, so it worked out!

I really wanted to use it (I like to use all the new things I buy right away, even food – which is a habit I’m trying to break, since this means I read a minimum of 5 books at a time!), so I devised a plan.

So I started with a basic chocolate chip cookie recipe and went from there.  I hope you enjoy these as much as we are!

Chocolate Heath Bar Cookies

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 sticks butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (mine is organic, yours doesn’t have to be)
  • 2 cups (8 oz pkg) Heath Bar toffee bits
  • 1 cup nuts (optional); I think chopped almonds would go well with this.
Directions:  Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  1. Cream together the butter and both sugars.  I’ve found the importance of insuring this step is done correctly – beat with mixer until smooth… no balls of butter and everything incorporated.
  2. Beat in eggs, vanilla and cocoa powder
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt and baking soda
  4. Adding a little at a time, stir in dry ingredients.. that’s right, stir – with a wooden spoon if you have it; get in there and use your arm muscles!
  5. Once flour mix is completely combined, add in your extras.  In this case, the Heath Bar bits (and nuts, if you’re using them)
  6. Drop dough by the tablespoon onto a greased/non-stick baking sheet
  7. Cook at375 degrees for 10 minutes.  Allow to cool on sheet 2 minutes before transferring to a cooling rack. 
Most importantly, enjoy!  There’s nothing better than digging into a delicious treat you’ve put your hard work into… except maybe a cold shower after being in the hot kitchen!
*As a side note – I realize that, just because my cocoa powder is organic, does NOT mean these cookies are healthy… they are not; not even a little.
**BTW, how do you like my attempt at food-staging?  I’m not an artist.  That’s a glass of almond milk, in case you wanted to know!
 
Leave a Reply

