Harry Potter Workout #1

 Welcome to Fitness!  I realize my recipes have not been all that kind to the waistline, so to counteract all those calories, I’ll be featuring some fitness routines … Geek style.

If you have suggestions or a routine you use regularly, please feel free to share!  I’m always open to trying new things.

To get started, I wanted to cover stretching.  This is very important to healthy muscle growth.  Besides that:

 

  • Reduced muscle tension
  • Increased range of movement in the joints
  • Enhanced muscular coordination
  • Increased circulation of the blood to various parts of the body
  • Increased energy levels (resulting from increased circulation)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

It’s safer for you and your body if you stretch before any sort of workout or strength training.  I found a very thorough stretching routine on bodyrock.tv, which I am sharing with you now.

Now that the stretching is out of the way, I have been scouring the web… okay, Pinterest… and there are some really cute ideas for workouts that can be fun for the whole family!  I have designed a series of workouts based on the Harry Potter movies and for the next 8 weeks will be featuring them on Fitness Fridays.  The first one was not mine, but all subsequent workouts have been designed by me to be challenging and (hopefully) a full body workout at home!

(Please keep in mind that I am not a professional and if you choose to partake in these activities, you do so at your own risk.  I encourage you to speak with your doctor before attempting any rigorous activity)

This workout is intended for the first movie: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

For those of you who don’t have the movie or don’t want the added fun of doing these activities in real-time, I took the liberty of making an approximate count of the references and adding up their total for this workout:
  • 520 Jumping Jacks
  • 60 squats
  • 60 lunges
  • 30 crunches
  • 30 sit-ups
  • 80 push-ups
  • 80 bicycles

If you are like me and are unsure what a bicycle is or how to do it right, I found this video:

Don’t over-do it! If you’re just starting out, these numbers may be extraordinarily high. Don’t fret. Just do as much as you can, take frequent breaks and drink plenty of water.

Eating good carbs and protein 1-2 hours before your workout will help you get maximum results.  To replenish after your workout, more good carbs and protein should be consumed within 60 minutes (ideally within 30 minutes) after your workout. If needed, you can sip a protein shake during the workout if it’s rigorous.

That’s it! Have fun and let me know how you feel!  I have 7 more waiting for you over the next 7 weeks, so don’t burn yourself out.

14 thoughts on “Harry Potter Workout #1

  1. Link Parties and Blog Hops were a total mystery to me until last week. I think I've been making up for lost time! But I have been making lots of new bloggie friends and finding some great blogs to follow!

    I hope you still love Harry Potter after trying this workout. 😉

  2. Thanks Alice! I actually didn't create this one, but I was hard-pressed to find who did. It was something I pinned on Pinterest, that was uploaded by a user. However, the next 7 will be my creation, so… yeah. We'll see how that goes! 🙂

Leave a Reply

