DIY Yarn Bat Wreath

I’m going to admit something.  Most of the crafts you’ll see over the next month have already been made over the last week or two and have been hanging up for a few days now.

I have an excuse!  I’m new to crafting.  Sure, I did projects and made things in Girl Scouts, but that’s farther back than I’m willing to admit.  I also used to draw quite a bit, but that, too, has passed.  With the projects I took on, I was unsure how long it would take to make, so I wanted to get started early.

For my first trick (or treat!), I made a fabulous yarn wreath!  You’re going to see a few of these over the next month, but they are all different.  I promise!

Gray Yarn Wreath with Bats
(inspired by eighteen25 via Just a Girl)

For those of you who have made a yarn wreath before, you know it has the potential to turn into a lengthy project (and sometimes painful)!  For those who haven’t, don’t be intimidated.  It’s not as bad as I’m making it out to be!  The end result is worth it.

Materials:

  • 1 Styrofoam wreath, any size (the craft stores have a hard Styrofoam and a porous one – choose the hard one! Or you can go to the hardware store and get plumbing foam tubing and duct tape – this is cheaper if you plan on making more than one + you can decide what your size is)
  • Yarn (I chose Greybeard by I Love This Yarn! @ Hobby Lobby)
  • Black card stock or a package of ready-made foam bats (I bought both)
  • Ribbon, any flavor (I chose a blood-spattered script, wire-edged ribbon by Celebrate It: Halloween – from Michaels)
  • A hot glue gun (+ extra craft sticks)
  1. Tie the end of your yarn around the wreath and knot it (preferably in the back.
  2. Here comes the “fun” part!  Wrap the yarn around the wreath, cinching each ring toward the one before so it’s nice and tight, with no wreath showing through.  Doing it this way takes a little longer, but you won’t have to spray paint the wreath in a matching color first.
  3. You may ask “How do you get it so smooth around the curve?”.  Honestly, on this one, I had no idea, so I did some crossovers several times.  You don’t have to do that.  Just keep it tight and it’ll work out!
  4. When you get to the end, use your glue gun to glue the end of the yarn to the back of the wreath.
  5. For the bats, I traced one of the foam bats onto black card stock as a starting point.  I drew the other sizes, then cut them out.  Glue them on the front of the wreath, wherever you want them.
  6. I created a loop at the top of the wreath with the ribbon, then glued a foam bat to the top.
  7. Hanging it was the tough part.  I ended up using a pop tab and gluing it onto the back of the bat. 

That’s it.  The most time-consuming part is wrapping the wreath with yarn, but seriously?  Grab your favorite drink, stock up on a favorite snack and find a great show or movie to watch.  The time will fly!

12 thoughts on “DIY Yarn Bat Wreath

Leave a Reply

