DIY Crafty BOO Sign

I have two more wreaths to share, but I wanted to mix it up a little with some plaque action!

This cutie was inspired by Irish Italian Blessings.  I think I’ll be doing another one like this for every holiday!

Materials:

 

  • Wood plaques, any size or shape (I chose a medium oval)
  • Card stock, any color scheme (I chose candy corn colors: white, orange and yellow
  • Letters – you can print them out, use a Cricut or buy wood letters (like me)
  • Paint, any colors (if you chose wood letters)
  • Glue (you can use wood glue, but I just used my glue gun)
  • Stickers (optional)
  • Ribbon or card stock strips (optional)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This one’s pretty straight forward.

 

  1. Trace your plaque shape onto the card stock; cut out and glue card stock to plaque.
  2. Paint your letters (if you went with my option); center letters on plaque and glue down.
  3. Put stickers on. 
  4. Hang.  (I used a whole lotta glue on pop tabs again.)

 

 

 

 

 

I had a heck of a time with this one.  If you are following along on Facebook, you’ll remember my “bad craft day”… yeah, this one was on that day.

I had the plaques attached with ribbon, but that didn’t hold and they fell, breaking some of the elements (not so bad that I couldn’t glue stuff back on, thank goodness!).  So I discarded the ribbon, went with the pop tabs and used small, clear Command hooks (stuck to wall, per instructions) to hang them.  Finally!

(And, we found out by surprise, the witch and ghost glow in the dark – well, their backgrounds do!)

12 thoughts on “DIY Crafty BOO Sign

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog and following. I'm following you right back! I tried to reply to you via email, but, Did you know that you are a “no-reply” blogger? You will get a lot more interaction with other blogger if you fix that in your setting and also if you turn off your word verification. Google does an awesome job of blocking spam!

  2. Okay… I turned off the word verification. In setting, to switch from being a “no-reply” blogger I change my settings for moderating comments? I'll do that, just in case the answer's yes.

    Thanks for letting me know. I had no idea!

  3. I forgot to thank you for the compliment!

    Those headers have become my new favorite “down-time” activity. I discovered digital scrapbooking, so I use that to make my headers! As for the background… I just love The Cutest Blog on the Block. They have awesome sets.

  4. So cute Robin! I just realized I wasn't officially following you! What the?? I am NOW via GFC! Thanks for joining the fun at Keep Calm and Link Up! Make sure to come back next Friday to see if you were featured!

    Barbara at Chase the Star
    chasethestar dot net

Leave a Reply

