Two Cheese Bacon Penne

I’ve been slacking since the end of Halloween.  I think I’m trying to conserve energy for the hosting of Thanksgiving.  I always look forward to having my in-laws over and my oldest nephew, since he lives nearby now.  That has me delegating tasks and cooking for 8 people on average! 

I made this in October, but with all the things I had on my plate, I thought I’d save this recipe for later.  I find that making homemade mac n cheese is not only easy, but a huge hit in my house!  So over the course of my posts, you may find an abundance of mac n cheeses, ’cause the flavor combos are endless!

Two Cheese Bacon Penne

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 2 cups cheese, cheddar

 

 

  • 1 cup Parmesan, shredded + more for top

 

 

  • 1 16 oz pkg uncooked small penne

 

 

  • 2 tbsp flour

 

 

  • 1 stick butter, divided

 

 

  • 1 cup Panko bread crumbs

 

 

  • 6 slices of bacon, in pieces

 

 

  • salt/pepper to taste

 

 

  • 2 tsp ground nutmeg

 

 

  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper (optional)

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

 

  • Cook bacon in small skillet until done; set aside.
  • In a microwave safe bowl, melt 1 tbsp butter; add bread crumbs and mix well; set aside.

 

 

  • In a medium saucepan, heat milk to boil; turn burner off. 

 

 

  • Using a high-sided skillet, melt remaining butter; when it begins to bubble, add flour and stir constantly. Add heated milk slowly to skillet, stirring constantly until sauce thickens. Add cheeses, salt, pepper, cayenne and nutmeg; stir until cheese is melted. 

 

 

  • Meanwhile, start boiling water for penne; cook according to directions on box, cooking just under recommended time. Drain; add pasta and bacon to skillet; fold together until fully incorporated.

 

 

  • Pour into greased 8×8 pan, top with shredded Parmesan (to taste) and bread crumbs. Bake for 30 minutes, or until top is golden brown.

 

I hope you enjoy!  Having food on the table is something I’m thankful for every day.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

