Banana Cake Doughnut w/ Peanut Butter Glaze

I know, I know. I’m just over a week late for National Doughnut Day… which was June 7th this year, apparently.

I am amazed at how many random holidays Americans have come up with.  And so many have to do with food, both Annual and National.

Just in the month of June (in chronological order) we have: Rocky Road Day; Teacher’s Day shares with Applesauce Cake Day; Chocolate Ice Cream Day; Juggling and Kitchen Klutzes of America share a day this year; Eat Your Veggies Day follows Fresh Veggie Day (thank goodness!); we celebrate out the month with Ice Cream Soda Day, Chocolate Eclair Day, Catfish Day, Chocolate Pudding Day, and Waffle Iron Day!

Like I said: only in America.

Moving on…

I had some overripe bananas and found an easy and delicious cake recipe that would help me use them over at Glorious Treats.  Unfortunately I don’t have a great track record with cakes coming out okay (but not for lack of trying!), but I have an impeccable results with baked doughnuts!

Here’s the recipe: (adapted from Glorious Treats: here)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Butter up 2 doughnut pans.

  • 3/4 C granulated sugar
  • 1/2 C sour cream
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp melted butter
  • 2 overripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  1. Whisk together sugar, sour cream, eggs, butter, bananas and vanilla in one bowl.  (Wet Ingredients)
  2. Combine flour, cinnamon, salt, baking soda and baking powder in another bowl.  (Dry Ingredients)
  3. Add the dry ingredients to the wet gradually with either a whisk or a spoon.
  4. Spoon batter into doughnut molds, almost to the top.
  5. Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes*.
  6. Let cool a couple minutes, then move to cooling rack until complete.

*I would check them at 8 minutes, but they could take up to 15 minutes, depending on your oven.

 

For the glaze: (adapted from She Knows: here)

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 C creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 C powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp milk
  1. Over low heat, melt together butter and peanut butter until creamy.
  2. Remove from heat; add powdered sugar to combine.
  3. Add milk to desired consistency.
  4. Dip cooled doughnuts into glaze, then return to cooling rack.
For those of you who’ve been around and are familiar with my cooking style, I don’t like to play by the rules… and by rules , I mean measurements. For the glaze, I just winged it. Which is why my glaze looks more like frosting. Now you know.  🙂
Leave a Reply

