Oatmeal Cranberry Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Football season is well under way! While it would be specious of me to say I’m not a fan, I don’t find it necessary to watch every Sunday game… which is an all day affair. Duh.  Plus it’s too early in the season to start worrying about player and team stats.

So I find other things to do.  Usually it’s as simple as reading a book or cleaning… Reality?  Pinterest and Candy Crush. Ha! Any way I distract myself, I can still check scores and laugh when The Big Guy’s team loses.  I mean, it’s the Raiders for goodness sake!  I should just be happy it’s not the Cowgirls… errr, Boys.

Now that I’ve probably offended a bunch of people, let me point out that I’m a Packers fan… and they’re 1-2. Sigh.  So I honestly don’t have room to talk.  (Like that’s ever stopped me.)
A few days ago I made a new batch of pumpkin cake cookies, but they were gone so fast I couldn’t get a picture!  But if you’re looking for a cookie that’s indulgently chocolate with a little tang, follow this recipe, but make these adjustments: instead of spice cake, I used a dark chocolate fudge cake mix, 16.25 oz box; I added a couple shakes of pumpkin pie spice; I also added approximately 8 oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips alongside the dried cranberries. So good!
So, for today’s football monopoly, I decided to bake more cookies! Exciting, I know.
I read the recipe on the back of a 5 oz package of Ocean Spray Reduced Sugar Craisins, but I’m not a huge fan of white chocolate, so that needed to go.  Can white chocolate truly be considered chocolate? It doesn’t have actual chocolate in it!  It’s all oils, fats and sugars. Gross.
So here it is, adapted from the recipe on the package of Ocean Spray Reduced Sugar Craisins:
Oatmeal Cranberry Chocolate Chunk Cookies
 
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
What you need:
  • 2/3 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, large
  • 1 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats (I use gluten-free)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour (all-purpose or your favorite GF blend)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 5-oz package dried cranberries
  • 8 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips
What to do:
  1. Beat together butter and sugar until smooth. Add eggs and mix.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine oats, flour, baking soda, and salt.
  3. Slowly add oat mixture to wet ingredients until fully combined.
  4. Gently mix in cranberries and chocolate chips (or chunks).
  5. Drop by rounded spoonfuls onto un-greased baking sheet.
  6. Bake at 375 degrees for 10-12 minutes.
  7. Allow to cool on rack, then enjoy!

Recipe makes about 2 1/2 dozen.

And, just for fun, the Ghosts in my Window:

 

My chihuahuas think they are cats.  Now, back to reading. Okay… Pinning. 🙂
Leave a Reply

