Shrimp Mango Guacamole Quesadillas

I was lacking all sorts of motivation this morning.  I’m still tired, even though I seem to have slept forever.

Then I got to thinking about dinner.  It’s baseball season, which means Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays are going to be CRAZY!  I needed something quick, easy, and that would keep well while everyone ate at different times.

So I thought:  Quesadilla Bar!

Since we had tacos last night, we had leftover shredded lettuce.  You know what’s in a bag of shredded iceberg lettuce?  Iceberg lettuce.  I know.  Said so right on the package – Shocking!  A surplus of cheese is always in the fridge – this time, mild cheddar. 
I had an extra bag of mini shrimp and, since I misunderstood TBG when I asked him about the leftover chicken, I cooked up the bag in a skillet with a couple shakes of garlic powder and thyme.
I love shrimp.  TBG loves shrimp.  The kids… not so much.  It was still good, though!
You can use tortillas of any kind and size – I used the fajita size flour tortillas.
Then there’s TBG again.  Went to the store to get an avocado for last night – of which I thought we would be making our own guacamole – but he also comes home with store-bought guac.  I told him it would have been cheaper to buy one tomato, one lime, and a jalapeño than the small container he picked up, but whatever.  So last night we just had mashed avocado on our tacos.  Tonight, it was the guac. 
Yum!  You know, up until this year, I refused to eat tomatoes and avocados.  Couldn’t stand them.  Now I love avocados… and I can tolerate tomatoes – as long as they are in guacamole!  It’s a learning curve.
Now my husband.  TBG hates mangoes.  Loathes, abhors… kind of how I used to feel about tomatoes and avocados.  I really wanted to try mangoes with guacamole.  What better way than with shrimp in a taco… or quesadilla, in this case.
All I did was take a can of mangoes I had on hand.  I would have been better with a fresh mango, but I did what I had to.  I rinsed the syrup off, then used my potato masher to make a quick chunky purée.  Such a gorgeous golden color.  I want to go eat the rest right out of the bowl!
Spread the mango on one tortilla and guacamole on another tortilla, then start building.
First – shredded iceberg lettuce, that contains… what?  Oh, right.  Iceberg lettuce! 
Add some cheese now, the shrimp after, and more cheese later. 
See the two halves?  They are about to make a delicious whole. 
I slapped the whole thing on the ‘ole electric griddle – used to belong to my Pops.  I had the temp of the griddle at 350° F to give the tortilla a nice crisp texture.  A few minutes on both sides should do the trick.  Use your instincts. 
I served this bad boy up with a side of steamed mixed vegetables and chickpeas.  I would have cooked my own chickpeas, since the canned kind usually has a preservative containing EDTA.  In case you didn’t know, EDTA is not only used as a food preservative but also in blood vials – to preserve blood.  Yummy.  Luckily I was looking at a new brand by Kroger called Simple Truth Organic.  No nasty preservatives in that can which = easier access to chickpeas! 
Hungry yet?  The mix of guacamole and mango is extraordinary!  Sweet, creamy, with a tiny kick.  It’s a gooey, cheesy mess, but you won’t want to miss a bite.  Plus those little, juicy shrimp lightly seasoned = party in your mouth!
Next time I’m going to the store and making both homemade guacamole and mango salsa.
You Need:
  • tortillas
  • cheese, shredded
  • guacamole (or ingredients to make your favorite recipe for guacamole)
  • 1 can mango, in light syrup or water, rinsed or 1-2 ripe mango(es), fresh – mashed
  • 1 bag shredded lettuce
  • 1 lb mini shrimp, deveined with tale off, frozen
For the Shrimp:
  1. If they are still frozen, the quickest way to thaw them on the spot is to take them out of the bag, put them in a fine mesh strainer, and run them under tepid water (lukewarm).  It’s done when the shrimp are soft and all ice is removed.  Takes a minute or two.
  2. Heat up a skillet over medium heat and add olive oil.
  3. Add shrimp when the pan is fully heated.  Add garlic powder and thyme.  Cook until every part of the shrimp has turned pink/translucent.  *if you’re using precooked shrimp, make sure they are warmed completely through.
Build Your Quesadilla:
  1. Preheat a skillet (stove top) or electric griddle to 350° F
  2. Take two tortillas.  On one, spread the guacamole as thick or thin as you like; the other, spread the puréed mango.
  3. Add shredded lettuce, cheese, shrimp, and more cheese on one side (I chose the mango side).
  4. Place the other, spread side down, on top.
  5. Slide onto skillet/griddle, let the tortilla crisp up a bit, then flip.  Another couple minutes to crisp the other side.
  6. Remove, allow to cool, then cut in pieces.
Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Shrimp Mango Guacamole Quesadillas

Leave a Reply

