Carne Asada Taco Pizza

I’m just going to premise this by saying that sometimes commercials can be helpful.  As a general rule, they suck.  Have you seen those Sonic® commercials with the two guys: one’s an idiot and the other isn’t much better… I hate those commercials!
Did I mention I watch way too much television?  I’ve been trying to cut down and spend my extra time reading, but there are days when you need a little extra noise to complete you.  Not often… not with kids, but sometimes.
Off point.  Papa Murphy’s® has this commercial for a taco pizza.  So I said to myself, I should make that!
A couple days later, we had take-out from one of our favorite Mexican places, which sells Carne Asada Fries – carne asada, cheese, fries, guacamole… Mmmmm.  So yummy.  Light bulb!  I should make a carne asada taco pizza!
Just like that.  Boom. 
Here’s a little tip.  If you are making guacamole your husband is making the guacamole and you have to make a quick run to the store, remind him that the jalapeño seeds are supposed to be left out.  No, really.  Please.  Unless you like the slow burning fires of hell in your mouth, take them out.  I hear chefs on Cooking Channel and Food Network say “…or leave them in, if you want a little heat.”  Lies.
Maybe I’m exaggerating a little.  Eventually my mouth grew accustomed to the taste so it wasn’t bad, but those first few bites: ouch!

Now, I don’t know how you make your guacamole or if you even like guacamole.  I didn’t.  I wouldn’t eat avocados (or tomatoes) and I can’t even think of a reason why now.  I want to put guacamole on everything!

For this recipe, we used avocado, tomato, jalapeño, cilantro, garlic and lime.  TBG forgot the salt, but to be honest, it didn’t need it!

Can you believe I did not own a food processor before this year?  Now I can’t imagine my kitchen without one.  So handy!  

I realize that most of these pictures are self-explanatory, so I’ll try and keep it brief.
Store-bought pizza crust on a 9×13 baking sheet + cheese, bake as directed on crust package.  I used a mix of mild cheddar and the nacho/taco blend for this step.

Spread with the guacamole (or sour cream or both). 

Spread the cooked carne asada over the spread.  I used this recipe from Primally Inspired.
Tip: cut the steak into smaller pieces for this pizza.  It’s the plan for the next go-around.
There’s never enough cheese!  More of the nacho/taco cheese blend, no extra cheddar this time.
When this picture was taken, just imagine TBG laughing at me, because I wanted a picture of him sprinkling the cheese.  Seriously.  Laughing at me.  At least he humored me, despite me humoring him.  Ha! 
I popped it in the oven again for a few minutes, hoping to melt the cheese on top without browning the guacamole.  As you can see, I did a fabulous job… not.
Overall this was a great recipe, but I have some things in mind to remake it, so you’ll want to stay tuned.  Yes, it includes having the seeds taken out of (at least) one of the jalapeños.
Shopping list:
Guacamole
  • 4 avocados
  • 1 large tomato, minced
  • 2 jalapeños, ribs and seeds removed, minced
  • 1 bunch cilantro, used to taste, chopped
  • 3 – 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 lime, for juicing
Carne Asada
  • 2-3 lbs flank or skirt steak, 1 inch thick (if you can’t find either, pick a nice cut the same thickness)
  • ⅓ cup white vinegar
  • ⅓ cup olive oil
  • 2 limes
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp each of:
    • salt
    • pepper
    • cumin
    • chili powder
    • smoked paprika
    • dried oregano
    • garlic powder
Other
  • pizza crust, store-bought or other
  • cheese of choice – the nacho/taco blend fits perfectly into this recipe
To Create:
  1. Start with the steak.  Cut steak to the size of pieces you want. Combine all ingredients in a seal-able container, toss to coat, then marinate in the refrigerator for at least 1 hour, but can be up to 24 if you want.
  2. When you’re ready to make the pizza, roll out the crust on a 9×13 baking sheet – one with short sides, not a flat cookie sheet.  Add cheese and bake as directed on crust package.
  3. While that’s baking, you can make the guacamole.  After halving and pitting the avocado, scoop out the flesh into a food processor.  Blend until creamy.  Add the rest of the ingredients and juice the lime, then blend again.
  4. After removing the cheesy crust from the oven, allow to cool slightly before spreading the guacamole.
  5. Evenly spread your steak pieces over the guacamole then sprinkle more cheese on top, to preference.
  6. At this point you can either be done or you can pop it back in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese – not too long, though!
  7. Slice and eat it!  We served sour cream and ranch dip alongside.
Enjoy!!

*Disclaimer* All pictures in this post are my property, taken by me or are of my children.  Do not claim rights or use for commercial or monetary gain.  Any use of these images should be linked back to me.  Thank you. 
2 thoughts on “Carne Asada Taco Pizza

Leave a Reply

