{Semi-Homemade} Chicken Meatball Pizza

Can you believe that I had never made a meatball?  A meatloaf from a cookbook, but never meatballs.  I realize the similarities, but I never had the occasion to make a meatball.
My mom laughed.  No really.  She did.  (Don’t say you didn’t, Mom… I heard it.  🙂 )
So why, when and I were discussing her birthday dinner, did the idea of a meatball pizza come to mind?  Let me spin the story…
It’s crunch time.  Her actual birthday had come and gone, but the weekend celebration we were waiting for was mere days away and we had yet to nail down the menu.
I asked her what she wanted and she was conflicted.  She wanted pizza, because she loves my Chicken Bacon Ranch pizza, but she also loves it when I make spaghetti.  Don’t underestimate the power of deliciousness behind a simple serving of spaghetti with red sauce and Parmesan.
That’s right.  Spaghetti and pizza.  Hmmm.
Since she couldn’t decide and a plan had begun to form in my mind, I asked more questions.
What did she like on spaghetti – what kind of sauce?  Alfredo
What else did she like on her spaghetti?  Parmesan
Anything else?  Oh yeah! Meatballs
Meatballs?  Having never served spaghetti and meatballs, it was a surprise, but it cemented my idea.
Now… to learn how to make meatballs. 

After running the idea by and getting an emphatic nod and the green light, I started researching (aka: Google).  Turns out, meatballs aren’t that hard.  The trick was figuring out how much to pre-cook (aka: brown in a skillet) them before putting them on a pizza to finish cooking in the oven.

And as that turns out, not that long, if your meatballs are smallish – which is perfect when they are going on a pizza!

Okay.  I have to stop for a minute and veer off on a tangent.  This is, by far, the “dirtiest” pizza I have ever made.  TBG was helping me in the kitchen… after all, I only have two hands.

But there are only so many times you can say balls before it gets funny – it got pretty bad in the kitchen.  I was laughing so hard I almost burnt those balls.  Just saying.

Now, back to the pizza.

Shopping List

  • 1 lb ground chicken
  • 1 lb bacon, chopped
  • 1 bunch green onions, diced (just a few, not the whole bunch)
  • 1 refrigerated pizza crust
  • 1 jar Alfredo sauce (I used Bertolli Alfredo Three Artisan Cheese)
  • mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • Parmesan cheese, shredded
  • 1/3 C milk
  • 1/2 C breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp poultry seasoning (I used Weber Grill Mates Herb and Garlic)
  • olive oil, for browning meat
To Create
  1. Preheat your oven and prepare crust as recommended on package.  Mine had to bake for a few minutes before adding toppings.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine breadcrumbs and milk, allowing time for breadcrumbs to soak up milk.
  3. Add chicken, egg, salt, and seasoning to breadcrumb mixture.  Get in there with your hands!  (I know it’s gross, but that’s what soap is for!)  Mix well.
  4. Form small balls with your hands (see? so dirty) and set aside.  Heat up a skillet with some olive oil.
  5. Drop balls into heated oil, careful not to crowd them. (it’s not going to get better. sorry)  Turn once one side has browned, allowing for both sides to brown evenly.  Don’t worry about cooking them all the way through – they’re going in the oven.  Remove from heat and cook any remainders.  Set them aside.
  6. Toss chopped bacon into same skillet (why dirty another pan?).  Cook until almost done, but not crispy.  Drain off fat and set aside.
  7. On prepared crust, spread the Alfredo sauce evenly and to taste.  Add a sprinkling of diced green onions, mozzarella, and Parmesan.
  8. Slicing the meatballs in half, add them on top of cheese.  Add bacon and more green onion.
  9. Finish off with more mozzarella and Parmesan, and the remainder of green onions.
  10. Place in preheated oven for time recommended on crust package.
  11. Allow to sit, then slice…
Enjoy!
P.S.  TBG doesn’t want you to know that he arranged the meatballs in those nice, neat rows.  But it’s true.  It wasn’t me (for once!).
2 thoughts on “{Semi-Homemade} Chicken Meatball Pizza

Leave a Reply

