Alone: A Poem

 

I used to write poetry back in junior high and high school.  So the real challenge – finding where I stashed all those old poems.  Guess what.  I found them!  Along with some of my original stories, some gems I bought off eBay, and all of my scrapbooking supplies.
 
Here’s a little taste of my teenage years:
 
Alone: A Poem
 
ALONE
Empty and afraid
Long, dark, endless tunnel
I see your face, the light
Shining brightly at the end.
HOPE
Full and soothing
Looking back, nothingness
I see my past, the darkness
Trying to hold me there.
THE FUTURE
Vast and uncharted
Sublime and beautiful
I see you, my love
Keeping me close to you.
FOREVER
Long and perilous
Winding, endless purity
I see my destiny, my fate
Calling out to me.
TOGETHER
Warm and secure
A blanket, comfort
I see love, your heart
Beating next to mine.
 
Whew.  Now that I’ve embarrassed myself and my teenage self… 
 
Alone: A Poem ©Robin Allen

All rights reserved.  This poem, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including recording, photocopying, offset, or by any information storage and retrieval system without permission in writing from the author, except by reviewers who may quote brief passages to be printed in a magazine or newspaper.
 
12 thoughts on “Alone: A Poem

  1. I love poetry, almost in an addictive way. I do open mic and spoken word every once in a while.

    Bacon is awesome.

    But so is this poem.

    Way to step outside your comfort zone. Love that you shared a bit of your soul of those adolescent years.

  2. I had a lot of angst in those years. I was trying to cope with being bipolar without knowing I was bipolar at the time + with all my hydrocephaly issues and hormones. I must have been terrifying!

    I gathered you were into poetry… otherwise you'd just be a Sparkly Weirdo, which would be totally fine, too! 🙂

  3. Hey, you've had it in yourself the whole time and finally shared it with us!

    I am not too much into poetry, but in college I liked the one about the black panther by Rainer Maria Rilke. It's in German. If I had to interpret it after all those years I would say it's about being burnt out by life.

    Sein Blick ist vom Vorübergehn der Stäbe
    so müd geworden, daß er nichts mehr hält.
    Ihm ist, als ob es tausend Stäbe gäbe
    und hinter tausend Stäben keine Welt.

    Der weiche Gang geschmeidig starker Schritte,
    der sich im allerkleinsten Kreise dreht,
    ist wie ein Tanz von Kraft um eine Mitte,
    in der betäubt ein großer Wille steht.

    Nur manchmal schiebt der Vorhang der Pupille
    sich lautlos auf –. Dann geht ein Bild hinein,
    geht durch der Glieder angespannte Stille –
    und hört im Herzen auf zu sein.

  4. I would agree with you! I found the translation on Wikipedia:
    His gaze against the sweeping of the bars
    has grown so weary, it can hold no more.
    To him, there seem to be a thousand bars
    and back behind those thousand bars no world.

    The soft the supple step and sturdy pace,
    that in the smallest of all circles turns,
    moves like a dance of strength around a core
    in which a mighty will is standing stunned.

    Only at times the pupil’s curtain slides
    up soundlessly — . An image enters then,
    goes through the tensioned stillness of the limbs —
    and in the heart ceases to be.

  5. I love the juxtaposition of contrasting elements in the poem. I tried really hard to sound like a poetic critic, but I probably failed. I still mean what I said though. The Alone with Together. The past and the future… It's beautiful. Not many modern poets who speak normal English (like I mean poets like you and me, not people who write an entire meaningless poem about a violin on their night stand and are more apt to get published because gibberish is trending in that culture), but not enough of us show contrast. The haiku is supposed to be contrasting elements, and I have not read any suburban haiku that seemed to acknowledge that part. It's finally nice to see someone who gets it, even if they don't want to.

Leave a Reply

