No Bake Piña Colada Cheesecake Minis

It’s another Friday, so you know what that means!  Blogging Challenge!  This week is Use Your Words, where participating bloggers pick 4 – 6 words or short phrases for someone else to use in a post.  The blogger must use each word/phrase at least once and each post will be unique, as each blogger gets their own set of words.  

Here’s the twist: no one knows who got their words, until now!  At the bottom of the post, you’ll find the links to all the other blogs featuring the challenge.  Make sure you stop over and see what all the fuss is about!


baking in a tornado
 
My words are: bridge, kayak, whip cream, handcuffs
Submitted by: The Momisodes

If you don’t know this about me by now, surprise!  I have a dirty mind.  I’m talking, when your brain is trying to float by in the gutter, mine is blocking the way… always.  I have a knack for making pretty much anything sound naughty.  This theory has been tested… so many times.

If you’ve visited the gutter before, you know exactly what I thought upon seeing a couple of my words.  But I did have a question.  Did you mean whipped cream or whip cream?  Don’t worry… I can (and will) use it both ways.

Here we go…

Adventures with Indiana Jones  (oh yes, I did!)

Summer is upon us and with the season, hot, dry days in the pseudo-desert of Utah keep many a housewife away from the added temperature in the kitchen.   I will admit that I will take the desert heat over Southern humidity any day, but hot is hot, regardless of where you live.  It is so hot the swamp cooler, despite its hard work and diligence, can only penetrate the smallest of areas in the home.  Time for an intervention.

Standing in my kitchen, I mentally review the contents of my fridge, freezer, and pantry.  As much as I love cake, I do not want to turn the oven on.  The thought of the extra heat is unbearable.  Light bulb!  A no-bake cheesecake with homemade whipped cream.  Perfect!  Light, fluffy, and best of all – refrigerated.

I start to make the cheesecake, but realize it is missing something, so I take a reading break before heading back into the kitchen to whip up the cream.  With the cream and sugar in the bowl, and my hand-mixer whirring away, my mind starts to wander, thinking of what the cheesecake is missing.

All of a sudden, my back door slides back with a bang!  I look up in shock to see the silhouette of a man in an over-sized fedora and well-fitting khakis standing by my table.  My heart beats faster as he slowly raises his amber eyes to meet mine.

With a lopsided smile and a gleam in his eye Indiana says, “It’s a long story.  Better hurry up or you won’t get to hear it!”*

Shaking my head, a smile forming on my own lips, I say, “I always knew someday you’d come walking back through my door.  I never doubted that.  Something made it inevitable.”*

He holds out his hand and, just when I reach for it, Indy says, “Might as well bring the cream.”  I laugh, but leave the bowl behind and take his hand as he whisks me out the door.

“Where are we headed, Indy?” I ask.  We went straight from my house to the airport, where we stood in the customs line.

His answer was short: “Ghana.”  Not knowing where to go with that, I cling to his well-muscled arm as we pass through customs and board the international flight to Accra, Ghana.  It took 23 hours, but we land safely at the Kotoka, the simple, yet efficient airport serving both local and international flights for all of Ghana.  We must be on a tight schedule, because Indiana pulls me quickly through customs and finds a place to get a vehicle

“Where are we going?” I ask again.

This time he is more forthcoming.  “First, we head to the Kakum National Park.  There’s this great Canopy Walk there that I think you will like.”

“Canopy Walk?”

“It’s a bridge.  Actually, it’s 7 bridges, strung up 131 feet and spans about 360 yards over the rainforest.  Then we will kayak at Miamia and sunbathe on a private beach, where I will attempt to whip cream off your half-naked body with my bullwhip, while you’re wearing handcuffs.  After that, the real reason we came here.  To find the perfect pineapple.”

All I can do is stare, speechless.  When I remember my voice, I simply say, “Can we skip the rest and get right to the cream?”  Indiana gives me his crooked smile with a twinkle in his eye and…

…there was a tug on my arm.

“Mommy,” says.  “I think it’s whipped.”  I shake my head to clear it, a smirk on my face, and Indiana disappears with a wink.  I finally knew what was missing.

No Bake Piña Colada Cheesecake Minis

Shopping List

  • 8-10 whole graham crackers, crushed
  • 6 tbsp granulated sugar, divided
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter, melted
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 20 oz can crushed pineapple, drained
  • 1 8 oz tub frozen whipped topping, thawed
  • 1 C heavy whipping cream
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (I used the clear version, but you don’t have to)
  • 1 tsp rum extract
  • coconut flakes (sweetened or unsweetened), toasted
To Create
Crust:
  1. Put crackers in a plastic zipper bag, leaving it partially open for air to escape.  Using a meat mallet or rolling pin, pound the crackers into submission until they are the consistency of sand.
  2. Sprinkle in sugar and drizzle with butter, then stir to combine.
  3. Press into ramekins or other small dish with high sides to form a crust.  If the crust seems too loose, put in fridge to set.
Filling:
  1. In a medium/large, beat together softened cream cheese and 3 tbsp granulated sugar until creamy.
  2. Mix in drained pineapple and vanilla extract.
  3. Fold in thawed whipped topping.
  4. Spoon or pipe filling on top of set crust.
{Rum} Whipped Cream
  1. Put whipped cream and rum extract in a large bowl.
  2. Whip until it forms soft peaks.
  3. Dollop onto the cheesecakes.
Coconut
  1. In a small skillet, add coconut flakes.  Toast over medium-low heat until most turns a golden brown color.
  2. Garnish cheesecake/whipped cream with toasted coconut.

Devour and enjoy! Plus, it’s okay for the kiddos, too.

*quotes from the actual Indiana Jones movie series

 
12 thoughts on “No Bake Piña Colada Cheesecake Minis

  1. I love where my mind goes, too… for the most part. LOL!

    Thanks for heads up on my little… um, forgetfulness. I fixed it and all is well again in the kingdom. 🙂

  2. Indiana Jones, huh? May I take credit for bringing him up..? Hahaha! I am surprised that he didn't take you to the South Pole, though.
    Either way, great adventure, great story! You whipped that cream all right!
    And I am so with you on preferring the desert heat over Southern humidity.

  3. Oh Robin, I'm so glad you got these words you dirty bird. You rocked this post…and probably Indy's world if you would have kept going 😉

    Question though-why are you fantasizing about my man?

  4. Well, he's always on my mind, but you may take partial credit. 🙂

    I think most people feel that way about heat… they just grow used to the climate they're at. Not sure I evaded the heat my taking a “trip” to Ghana, but at least the ocean is nearby.

  5. You, too? I've already had this discussion with Tamara! I'm willing to share – there is enough of that gorgeous hunk of man to go around. 🙂

    And the whole world would have rocked… which is why it had to end. LOL

Leave a Reply

