Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn – A Review

 As a late birthday present, the School District decided to take my kids back today – to school, that is!  Some of my sanity may return over the next 9 months… maybe.
Bigfoot pulled one off on me… again!  So while he watches Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, I will attempt to busy myself with other things, like this review.  Don’t get me wrong; I’m as nerd as the next one.   But do you know how long those movies are?  Each?  TBG and I did a marathon once, when B and Q were babes – Longest. Day. Ever.  We didn’t stop the movies except to make dinner – not even for potty breaks – and it still took all day!  Never. Again.  Anyhooo —
Title:  Sharp Objects
Author:  Gillian Flynn
Genre:  Adult Fiction, Mystery, Suspense
Synopsis:  WICKED above her hipbone, GIRL across her heart 

Words are like a road map to reporter Camille Preaker’s troubled past. Fresh from a brief stay at a psych hospital, Camille’s first assignment from the second-rate daily paper where she works brings her reluctantly back to her hometown to cover the murders of two preteen girls.

NASTY on her kneecap, BABYDOLL on her leg 
Since she left town eight years ago, Camille has hardly spoken to her neurotic, hypochondriac mother or to the half-sister she barely knows: a beautiful thirteen-year-old with an eerie grip on the town. Now, installed again in her family’s Victorian mansion, Camille is haunted by the childhood tragedy she has spent her whole life trying to cut from her memory.

HARMFUL on her wrist, WHORE on her ankle 
As Camille works to uncover the truth about these violent crimes, she finds herself identifying with the young victims—a bit too strongly. Clues keep leading to dead ends, forcing Camille to unravel the psychological puzzle of her own past to get at the story. Dogged by her own demons, Camille will have to confront what happened to her years before if she wants to survive this homecoming.

 

About the Author:  About her bio.  It was so fun to read, I’m going to send you straight to the source!  Check it out here.  Also, in case you didn’t know, all of her books have been optioned for the screen.  Gone Girl is set to come out in theaters in October 2014; same with Dark Places – earlier, in September.  Sharp Objects is going to be made into a TV drama series.  Yay.
First Impression:  Considering how Gone Girl ended, this should be epic, right?
This is not my first Gillian Flynn novel, but it is hers.  I read Gone Girl, her most recent, before reading her debut.  Maybe I should have read this one first, but if I had, I might not have picked up Gone Girl.  In retrospect, that’s a good thing.
I can’t say I’m a huge fan of the main character, Camille.  She’s a reckless, mentally unstable alcoholic who describes herself as a mediocre journalist, but turns amateur detective for the duration of this novel.  Oh.  And she has family issues.  How original.  The character development is thorough, but uninspired.
Also, beware the obtrusive and random use of big words.  Can anyone say “thesaurus”?
What’s original is Flynn’s penchant for building – and holding – suspense within a story line.  Wow!  When being fed tiny tidbits of information as the story progresses, it’s like a dog with treats – you keep begging for more.  You won’t be able to put it down.
And the plot twist… Well, I can’t tell you.  You just have to trust me – the plot twist alone is worth every page and the large lexicon of this book.
Final Thoughts:  I think I expected too much from this book and came away disappointed.  You know the phrase “never judge a book by its cover”?  Well, I’d like to add to that – never judge a book by the ones you read before it.  You’ve been warned.
My Suggestion:  As far as mystery and suspense is concerned, this one delivers.  Just don’t expect to like the characters.  This is one I will definitely recommend as a library read.
Star Rating:
Disclaimer: I have not been compensated in any way for this review and all opinions contained herein are my own and in no way reflect the ideas or opinions of people or sites I may reference.  This is intended for entertainment purposes only
Leave a Reply

