We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – A Review

 I am dying over here.  Figuratively dying.  I got in a little over my head with my reading – I was trying to read 5 books at a time to keep up with my reviews.  My fault – I got stressed = massive headache.  So I cut out a few books.  This is the latest read.
Title:  We Were Liars
Author:  E. Lockhart
Genre:  Teen Fiction, Realistic Fiction, Contemporary, Mystery
Synopsis:  A beautiful and distinguished family.
                   A private island.

 

                   A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.

 

                   A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.

 

                   A revolution. An accident. A secret.

 

                   Lies upon lies.

 

                   True love.

 

                   The truth.
About the Author:  I found her website and, by extension, her bio.  The first part is the usual blah blah about her writing career.  Scroll down and read her list of 21 things [you] don’t know about [her].  It’s awesome!  Find it here.
First Impression:  Seriously, the synopsis – it begs to be read!  Have I mentioned how much I love a good mystery?
The story focuses on an old-money rich family, the Sinclairs.  There are three sisters and all their children, vying for the love, attention – and the largest part of the inheritance from the patriarch.  It’s stereotypical old-money behavior.  The story is told from the eldest granddaughter’s POV, after her accident.  There are subtle changes between past and present tense, so you may not even realize it’s happening, but it’s there, so pay attention.
There is a lot of descriptive elements in Lockhart’s writing.  It will start on a normal course, then the main character will start describing something and you’ll wonder what just happened.  It’s not exactly confusing, but the view from the main character’s eyes is abnormal, complicated and beautiful – all at the same time.  It’s almost like reading a poem, with the descriptions.  A long, fragmented poem.  In reading it, this starts to make sense.
I’m not sure how much more I can tell you without giving away things.  The plot is inextricably entwined with the plot twist, there isn’t room for error if I am to keep the mystery alive.  So I guess that’s all from me.
Final Thoughts:  I read this as an extra book (of the month) with my book club and general consensus was total surprise at the plot twist.  I did not concur, as I had a pretty good idea what was happening earlier on.  I read a lot of mystery books that contain a psychological aspect, however, so – yeah.
My Suggestion:  Library book.  Hands down.  If you find you’re not liking the way the book is written, as it does take some getting used to, I urge you to stick it out – the plot twist is worth it. Probably not something I will revisit – unless I want to try and figure where, exactly,  the plot twist started, specifically.
Star Rating:
Disclaimer: I have not been compensated in any way for this review and all opinions contained herein are my own and in no way reflect the ideas or opinions of people or sites I may reference.  This is intended for entertainment purposes only
One thought on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – A Review

  1. Pingback: Wink Poppy Midnight – A Review | The Fiction Lane

Leave a Reply

