Nevermore Wreath {tutorial}

Welcome to another edition of Blog with Friends!  It’s almost Halloween, so we have some spooky, kooky, yummy, and fun projects for those of all ages!
 
*          *          *          *          *
Then this ebony bird beguiling my sad fancy into smiling,
By the grave and stern decorum of the countenance it wore.
‘Though thy crest be shorn and shaven, thou,’ I said, ‘art sure no craven,

 

Ghastly grim and ancient raven wandering from the Nightly shore-
Tell me what thy lordly name is on the Night’s Plutonian shore!’
Quoth the Raven, ‘Nevermore.’  
-Edgar Allan Poe, “The Raven”

 

  • 1 skein white yarn
  • Roll of ribbon – users choice
  • 3 (more or less) 5 inch ravens
  • Red vase fillers
  • Black leaves/flowers
  • Hot glue/gun

 

I did this one a little differently than all the others… literally all of them.  Not only was this way faster and less painful on my hands, the texture is way better!
 
I started it like any other – tied the yarn around the wreath and knotted it, then added a dab of hot glue to keep it still.  Instead of trying to create a single flawless layer of yarn, I was more imprecise, but still tried to make a clean first layer.
When I was finished with the first layer, I went around the whole wreath again, still keeping it loose.  As you can see from the picture below, it gives the wreath more texture and (I hope) lessens the stress on the wreath form, which in turn (I hope), will keep it from breaking.  
 
It’s happened.  Twice.  No, I don’t want to talk about it.
Now, aren’t these the most adorable, non-intimidating ravens ever?  I think they may be mad at me – I had to cut off their feet.  I had hoped to use their feet/wires to anchor them to the wreath, but the wires were too weak.  I may have also… ruffled some feathers.  I hope that doesn’t come back to haunt me… 
 
Fall back adhesive: hot glue, from my charming mini glue gun.
 
There is a total of three on this wreath, because they were so tiny.  I figured, why not use them all!?  At least I’ll know where they all are.  If one goes missing, I see karmic revenge in my future.  *shudders*  I hate dislike birds. (No jokes about my name, now…)
To keep with the Gothic theme that a Nevermore wreath begs for, on my trip to the craft store I went in search of ribbon.  I had something very specific in mind, which means I didn’t find anything remotely like the ribbon I wanted, so I improvised.
 
This ribbon was in the regular ribbon section, not the targeted Halloween section, in white.  With the white yarn, the black filigree can stand out.
 
Then I found a the shimmering black leaves in the floral section.  It may or may not be part of the holiday collection.  I snipped a few off the branch and hot-glued them down.
 
The flower was actually a clip or barrette of some kind.  I was able to remove it from the clip so as to better glue it down.  It still isn’t sitting quite right, but I’ll take it.
The red “gems” are simple vase fillers.  I wanted a pop of color in the seemingly monochromatic wreath.  I find it fitting.
 
I hope you find inspiration everywhere you look!
 
Here are the links to the rest of the Boo Crew:
 
Who needs caramel apples when you can have Bloody Buddies from Karen!?
 
Want to decorate, but don’t want to spend a lot of moolah?  Lydia has a solution with her Spooky Kooky Halloween:
Here’s another DIY Halloween decoration from Shellybean – a creative, fun Halloween Gate:
If your children need a mellow Hallows Eve, Melissa has a Not So Spooky Halloween for you:
…and I don’t know a girl who wouldn’t love this DIY Anna Cape from Stacy – I know I want one!
 

Happy Haunting!

Leave a Reply

