Simply Festive Wreath {tutorial}

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, everywhere you go. Take a look in the five and ten, glistening once again with candy canes and silver lanes aglow!   

It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas; toys in every store.  But the prettiest sight you’ll see is the holly that will be on your own front door.   

A pair of Hop-a-long boots and a pistol that shoots is the wish of Barney and Ben.  Dolls that will talk and go for a walk is the hope of Janice and Jenn.  And mom and dad can hardly wait for school to start again.  

– “It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas”, by Meredith Wilson circa 1951

Ho, ho, ho… ‘n stuff.  This whole damn thing is just starting and I already feel like I’m failing at Christmas.  Yes, failing.  Horrible. Just horrible.  Plus, the elf.  Just saying.

We’ve busted out the Christmas movies and have managed to sneak in ELF, Home Alone 1 and 2, and Jeff Dunham’s Very Special Christmas Special.  Don’t judge – we’ve explained that anything Dunham’s puppets say should never be repeated and if any of the stunts shown in the Home Alones were performed in real life, people would die.  Also, we’ve told them that if they see gum on the street, leave it.  It’s not free candy.  Bases covered.

You’re here, which means you are awesome and it just so happens the Jolly Jinglers are bringing you amazeball projects to brighten your holidays!  Here’s mine:

First, I’d like to give a shout out and loads of love to The Big Guy, who went with my to the craft store every time and helped me cling to my sanity as my merry crumbled around me.  He’s the best husband I could ask for and I’m not giving him back.  All mine.

Also, you might notice my usual starter picture is missing.  At this point my thumb holding yarn on a wreath could start its own Facebook page, so I decided to leave it off.  If you must see my thumb, you can do so here and here.

What You Need:
  • 1 skein tan yarn
  • 1/2 skein gold-flecked, thin-style, tan yarn
  • white yarn
  • rope lights, found in the scrapbook section
  • 1 bottle brush tree, size is users choice
  • miniature present ornaments, scaled to tree size (there are a bunch of sizes and colors)
  • hot glue gun
  • hot glue sticks (if you don’t have them)
This wreath started out with a light tan color planned for the whole wreath.  Obviously I added to it, as the monotonous color needed pizazz.  Plus, I had this idea halfway through to use up the rest of my white yarn.  Goal accomplished!
 
You could just use the gold-flecked tan yarn to wrap the whole thing, but if you end up with the thinner style, it will take longer.  Trust me – I know.  In this case, I used it as the second wrap over the tan yarn.
 
The white was supposed to represent snow, but when all was said and done, it was just a nice accent color and an indicator where to put the tree.  Also, it is off center, which would usually bother the OCD part of me, but the tree is straight, so I left it alone.  Again, wrapped twice.
Ah.  The lights.  Aren’t they adorable!?  I did not have this specifically in mind and boy am I thankful for that!  While looking for pieces for another project (in the near future), TBG wandered into the scrapbook aisle and picked them up.  I fell in love – both with the lights and again with my husband.
 
Using the glue gun, I hot glued one light to the back of the wreath to start the strand.  As I draped the lights, I continued to glue one light to the back, so the whole thing wouldn’t fall. For those keeping count at home, I glued a total of 4 lights to the back and cut off the excess.

 

Now, what to do with the remaining lights…
 
What’s more Christmas-y than a tree lit with colorful lights (besides Santa and candy canes)!?  This bottle brush tree came with a wooden base.  You could just snip it off with wire cutters, but I found I could just unscrew the tree from the base.  What!?  Done.
 
Don’t laugh, but when I went to stick the wire into the wreath form (after wrapping it), I couldn’t get it past the yarn.  I know – dumb.  However, gently moving the yarn aside, then sticking it in worked wonders. (that’s what she said)  I added a dab of glue to reinforce its stability. 
 
Because it’s a bottle brush tree, adding the excess lights was easy and didn’t require any glue.  I started at the bottom and wound them around to the top.  Boom.
 
Pick a present (or two) and hot glue it near the tree.  Step back and admire a job well done!

 

Simple.  Festive.  Simply Festive!
For more festive fun, check out these links.  You’ll be filled with holiday cheer!
 
Looking for something yummy?  Look no further than Karen’s Incredible Edible Holiday Trees:
 
Lydia made an adorable Twisted Paper Angel – and you could too!
 
Shellybean brought us Cloth Christmas Trees to spark your Christmas spirit:
 
Looking for High Tech Stocking Stuffers that won’t break the bank?  Melissa has a list and checked it twice! 
 
Sarah is going to entertain us with stories during Christmas Story Time:
 
Dream of being an elf?  Let it come true with Stacy’s Elf Hat and Shoes!
How about some more fun for the kids – Hand Print Christmas Wreaths from Christy!
 
Have a Holly Jolly Christmas, Happy Chanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, Yule Blessings, and Feliz Navidad – from me to you!
Leave a Reply

