Butterfly Necklace and Bracelet Set {GIVEAWAY!}

I do not know if you have realized it yet, but I have no idea what I’m doing.  Usually.  For the most part.  Especially in jewelry-making, where I am a total newbie.  Everything I am learning, I get through YouTube… or trial and error, emphasis on error.
Not that there is necessarily anything wrong with that.  In most cases it turns out in my favor.
Like this project.  I wanted to work with chain.  I have not worked with chain before and felt daunted by the mere thought of what to do with it.  Turns out, not so hard.  I worked myself up for nothing.  It is a tendency I cannot seem to break.
This particular chain is lightweight, which makes it tiny.  Have I mentioned my eyesight is not great? It’s a sterling silver, medium figure-eight chain, 2×4 mm chain.

Look!  You do not have to use fancy equipment to measure and cut it!  After figuring out the length of the links I was going to use, I simply had to measure with a ruler and snip it with wire cutters.  Easy peasy.

Now, I have mentioned my battle with crimp tubes before and this time was no exception.  I had two different sizes at home and neither of them worked for the type of beading wire I used!  So once again, it was out to the craft store… and none of the major stores in my area had the size I needed.  Luckily, I found this great little beading shop close by and they had what I needed.

The wire I used is a monofilament illusion cord, size 0.25 mm, so I used a 1×1 mm crimp tube.  Imagine tiny silver flecks on a white surface.  Lucky I didn’t lose any!

Also I thought my crimp pliers were of the micro variety, but apparently not.  I had a heck of a time getting those tiny tubes crimped to the point the cord stayed put.  I even made a tiny mistake later on in the design.  Not that you can really tell, of course.

I did mention the whole newbie thing, right?  Another lesson learned!

I knew I was going to enjoy beading, so I went ahead and invested in this design board.  It was pretty cheap and I cannot even tell you how helpful it was to have it all laid out beforehand!

Once I had the cords attached to either side of my first chunk of chain (this piece of chain totaled 2 inches), I was almost ready to start beading.  If using a pendant, like the sterling silver butterfly shell I used, and you are not using a jump ring to secure it, you will want to slip it onto the chain before beading.

These are not your run-of-the-mill beads.  They are pearls!  All my research pointed to pearls needing a thin strand, which is why I used the 0.25 mm cord.  Bigger cords or wires will not necessarily fit through a pearl.  Something to keep in mind.

Just like threading a needle…  I’m guessing.  I do not know how to sew!

Pictured above: mother of pearl, oval rice bead, 5×8 mm.  Pictured below: freshwater pearls, side drill, gold, 8 mm.

Here is my pattern: three oval, one pearl, with ovals beginning and ending the pattern.  I ended each side of the necklace with a 1 inch length of chain, a loop created to attach the cord to the chain with a 1×1 mm crimp tube.

I had originally planned on using the sterling silver butterfly clasp for the necklace, but with the amount of beads I had leftover, I figured I could make a matching bracelet, using the clasp as the tie-in.

So instead, I used this toggle clasp I had leftover from another project.  They are so easy to use – you just slip the bar into the ring and lay it out.  To attach it to the chains, I used a 4 mm jump ring.

Ta-da!  Achievement Unlocked: Created Necklace.

In creating the matching bracelet, I used the same pattern and techniques as the necklace, but used the butterfly toggle instead.

I mentioned a mistake before and it was on the bracelet.  When closing a crimp tube on one side of the clasp, I managed to squeeze the ring it was next to as well.  It doesn’t affect the work as a whole, but I wanted to mention it.

As you can see, this clasp is easy to use as well.  Simply slip the hook over the bar and you are finished.  Necklace is a standard 18″ strand; the bracelet is just over 7 1/2 inches.
If you are looking for inspiration or want to duplicate this project, head over here – you’ll find everything you need and more!

Done and done.  I hope you like it as much as I do…

…because I am giving away the set to one lucky winner!  

Giveaway open to U.S. and Canada only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
//widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

