Pineapple Paradise: Memory Wire Bracelet {tutorial}

These bracelets are super easy to make and can be customized to any taste.
Things You’ll Need:
  • memory wire
  • assorted beads
  • round nose pliers
  • wire cutters
  • charm (optional)
See how it coils?  You will find other coiled wire, so make sure your package says memory wire.  It’s designed to bounce back no matter how far you stretch it.
Playing around with this, I kept singing “Slinky, Slinky, everyone loves a Slinky”!  Still makes me think it when I see the wire.

The nice thing with this style of bracelet is you can have as many layers as you want.  For this one I chose a three coil.

To measure with your own wrist, wrap the coils around until your happy with the amount, making sure to start and end the bracelet on the inside of the wrist.

They have specially designed cutters for memory wire, since it’s thicker than regular jewelry wire, but I didn’t have them and didn’t want to buy them, so I used my regular wire cutters and some muscle.  Don’t be surprised if it takes some oomph to cut through the wire.

Once you have the wire cut, take your round nose pliers and create a loop on one end, like the one pictured below.  Make sure the loop is closed (I fixed mine after taking this picture) and straighten the wire out if you want.  It is totally optional.

Lay out your pattern.  I have a bead tray and it’s a greatest thing ever when it comes to beading.  Plus, it’s pretty cheap; worth every penny.

I started out having only the yellow round, the luster beads (they have a yellow tint!), and the silver pineapples, but my original pattern and the amount of beads needed didn’t add up, so I went back to the store for more yellow rounds and the green rectangles.

Once I had the pattern finalized, all I had to do with string the beads!  I had way more fun with it than I should have – in bringing the beads to the looped end, I stretched the cord out and watched it spiral down.  It was like being a kid again!

Keep stringing until you’re done, measure a bit of excess wire to make the ending loop, then cut off the rest.  As with the first loop, use the round nose pliers and make sure it is closed.

I saw this adorable pink flamingo and had to have it.  For a little added summer fun, I clipped it to the end loop.

Done and done.  See?  I told you it was easy!

Summer on, my precioussssses!  Check out my friends:

Looking for an e-reader and don’t know where to start?  Melissa has suggestions on How to Choose:

This delicious Neapolitan Sundae Cake from the talented Karen looks divine!

Rabia show us how to make a DIY Sit Upon for those burning metal bleachers or even the grass:

And Lydia has great ideas on Summer Activities to keep you (and your kids) from inevitable boredom:

Keep Cool!

Leave a Reply

