Simple Back to School Wreath

“…Hours are like diamonds, don’t let them waste
Time waits for no one, no favours has he
Time waits for no one, and he won’t wait for me…”

The Rolling Stones, “Time Waits for No One”
 
Is it just me or does the moment you realize you have forgotten something important totally suck?  
 
I had plans to participate in this month’s Blog With Friends collaboration back in early August.  I had plenty of time to plan, get the supplies I needed, and take all the pictures my little heart desired (and time to buy extra batteries for my camera).
 
Then life happened, extra money disappeared, and my health problems got problems of their own, so August got (up and ran) away from me.  Next thing I know I am facing off with a deadline I was not ready for… and I came this [   ] close to bowing out for fear I would fail at putting my best foot forward.
 
But as the old adage we learned in primary school goes, when your back is figuratively against the wall, K.I.S.S. – Keep It Simple Stupid.  With my trusty sidekick (and keeper of my sanity) by my side, I sallied forth into the craft store in search of inspiration.  Just keep it simple! 

If I had started in August as planned, I am fairly positive my search for supplies would have been easier, but time did not wait for me.  It was surprisingly hard to find apples in the craft store, if you can believe it.  They are full to bursting with Halloween goodies and Christmas is slowly encroaching, claiming its territory week by week, but autumn… autumn is lost in a pile of glittery, orange, fabric leaves and rock hard berries on twigs.

Ah, I digress…
 

Here is what I used:

  • yarn – I planned to use white but could find it, so I went with tan
  • wreath form – this is a 12″ Styrofoam wreath form; a hard one, not the soft flaky one
  • ribbon
  • plastic apple(s) – mine came on a bouquet of wires and fabric leaves
  • wire cutters
  • spray adhesive (optional, but an easy way to start the yarn smoothly)
  • hot glue gun and sticks

 

I hope you will forgive the state of my pictures.  As my luck would have it, the batteries in my camera died before taking the first shot, so I used my phone instead.  First World Problems, am I right?

Wrap once, wrap twice, wrap with ribbon.  Glue on any accouterments and make it your own beautiful creation.  All this project takes is an iron grip and a little time.  Tick tock goes the clock – the whole thing took me just a few hours from conception to fruition.

All while being subjected to the movie Coneheads… damn those insurance commercials who put the idea in The Big Guy‘s head.  I felt like my teenage boy, loudly proclaiming UGGGGGH, while said son laid on the floor and laughed like a loon.  It is where the stupid came in.

As school has started here (thank the gods), I may turn this into a teacher gift for the only child who has one teacher instead of five or six.  *sobs silently*

Now, with what little time I have left, I send you off on a journey of back to school discoveries!

Melissa has the Apps to Use and Apps to Lose for the school year:

A DIY Back to School Homework Table (perfect for procrastinating until dinner) from Joy:

Get comfy with a Cozy Cover for nap mats by Stacy:

Here are some Favorite Sites for Teaching Online, from Lydia, an online teacher.

Looking for a snack?  Karen created Kit Kat Brownie Bars for that perfect sugar high after school:

As for alliteration, Rabia has a Personalized Pencil Pouch perfect for preparation (and fun!):

Denying they are back to school?  Here is a visual time capsule of Summer Memories from Eileen.

It’s been a great summer – see you next year! (Just kidding – see you on Friday)

12 thoughts on “Simple Back to School Wreath

  1. It's a beautiful wreath! I've always wanted to try one like this, but I can never find the right wreath form when the idea strikes. Maybe I should plan ahead! LOL!
    Also, thanks for the alliterative love!

  2. Sometimes alliteration is the best way to go! 😉

    As for the wreath forms, the “floral” department of craft stores almost always has the wreaths I use. They'll be green, but once you wrap them, it doesn't matter. Try there!

  3. My husband would flip if I made a goal like that! One third of our bedroom closet has been taken over by my wreaths. LOL! If only I had a better place to put them…

    I would love to have one for each holiday, though, at least.

Leave a Reply

