Raspberry Mini Heart Cakes with Chocolate Ganache

They say the road to hell is paved with good intentions.  To coin a phrase, the road to my kitchen is paved with intentional recipes gone by the wayside.

I get an idea in my head.  I plan it, imagine it, and it is perfect in every way.  The end result… not so much.  I have found, in my case, it is always a good idea to have the ability of remaking something with what you have already made.

Like these cakes.  They are adorable, if I do say so myself… and I do.

My intention was to have them double layered with a chocolate cream cheese buttercream filling and chocolate ganache coating.  Sounds easy enough, except the fact I only had one jelly roll pan and had never baked a cake in one to bolster my confidence.

The cake came out great – perfectly pinkish, soft and moist.  Exactly what you want in a cake, right?  Apparently not if you want to use a cookie cutter to make cute little hearts.  And since I only bought enough cake mix for one shot, I could not fix it… this time.

So, side note, while moist, fluffy cakes are melt-in-your-mouth delicious, make denser cake.

In order to continue my love affair with cake, I had to rethink my strategy.  Layers were out of the question, which meant leaving out the chocolate cream cheese buttercream.  I know – {sad face}.

Can you believe this was made from a boxed mix?  Sure makes things easier.

Another side note: when you are buying your chocolate, pay attention or you will end up laughing at the fact you bought jumbo chips and mini chips, like I did.  Just another stop on my misadventures in the kitchen.

Back to cake.  And chocolate.  For once I was smart – I knew I had one shot at covering these damn things with ganache, so I used a baking rack over an empty bowl to catch the excess. Brilliant, of course.

Did not make them any prettier, unfortunately.  I am going to have to practice more… not that I mind!

I would tell you to look away, but then you would miss out on the recipe and what these lack in finesse, they make up for in taste.

All right.  Preheat oven to 325°F/162°C.

Here is what you need:

For the Cake:

  • 1 box white cake mix (I used Duncan Hines® Classic)
  • Egg/egg whites recommended on the box + 1 more (I used actual egg whites, not the liquid kind)
  • butter, melted – in place of oil, double the amount
  • Milk – in place of water
  • 1 tsp raspberry extract
  • pink gel food coloring (I used Americolor® Electric Pink)
For the Ganache:
  • 2 2/3 cup semi-sweet baking chocolate, chopped or chips (dark chocolate would pair well, too)
  • 1 cup heavy cream

 

For cake:
  1. Mix cake according to directions.  Beat in extract and one drop of food coloring.
  2. Pour batter into lined jelly roll pan.  Spread evenly.
  3. Bake for 8 minutes.  Turn 180°.  Bake another 8 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
  4. Allow to cool completely.  Cut out desired shape with cookie cutter.
For ganache:
  1. Pour heavy cream into saucepan.
  2. On medium heat, warm the cream until it starts to steam.  Remove from heat.
  3. Pour over chocolate chunks/chips.  Stir.
Placing a rack over a bowl, spread cakes over the bowl with enough room between them while keeping them over the bowl.  Using a spoon, pour chocolate over cakes and spread to cover all sides the best you can.  Allow excess to drip into the bowl for a few minutes.
If you run out of ganache, scrape out the bowl and continue until there is nothing left.
Transfer finished cakes onto platter.  When done, put into fridge to set.

 

Then, eat your heart out.  Get it?  *wink wink*

4 thoughts on “Raspberry Mini Heart Cakes with Chocolate Ganache

Leave a Reply

