The Legacy: An Affair

Back by popular demand, The Legacy continues – or should I say starts – here.



It was four in the morning when I heard the knocking.  The sound was loud enough to rouse me from sleep, but I dismissed it as remnants of a dream until they repeated.  I was slow to rise and the knocking became louder and more incessant.  By the time I reached the front door, whoever was on the other side was pounding hard enough to rattle the glass and caming of ivy pressed within.

 
I stumbled across the tiled foyer and groped for the door handle in the dim light.  The locks were barely turned when the door was thrown open and with it Blake stormed in.  He was infuriated, dark hair mussed and a wild look in his eye.  His heavy feet echoed on the marble as he paced frantically, as if unsure where to go.
 
“Where is she?” he demanded.
 
I kneaded my forehead with two fingers, closing my eyes as he flicked the entry light on.  “What the hell, Blake?  It isn’t even light out.”
 
“Where is she?” he hissed through his teeth.  My eyes involuntarily glanced to the left causing him to walk toward the stairs, but I was quick to put myself in front of him, placing a warning hand on his broad, muscular chest.  He paused momentarily, long enough for me to situate myself to better guard the pathway upstairs.  “She’s here.  I know she’s here.”
 
“Jesus, Blake.  Of course she’s here!  What did you expect?” I asked.  A flash of anger lit up his eyes and he tried for the stairs again.  Taking him by the arm, I led him away toward the back of the house.  “Listen.  You can’t just barge in here making demands.  We might live in the same community, but this is still my house.”
 
Reaching the kitchen, I turned on the soft track lights above the granite-topped island and set about getting the kettle ready for tea.  As I filled the pot with water, Blake sank down onto the corner cushioned stool.  I positioned the teapot on a front-side burner to boil before turning to face him, resting my hands on the edge of the counter behind me as I leaned back casually.
 
“You’re an idiot, you know that?” It was rhetorical, but it still made his head hang.  Taking a deep breath, I ran my manicured fingernails through my honey-dipped brunette hair.  “Look.  Tina came here because she knows this is a safe place.  She won’t say it, but she’s done – so done with all your drama, Blake.  And God knows it’s about time.”  His eyes narrowed and he started chewing the inside of his cheek, but he remained silent.  “I’m sorry, but it’s true.  You have been a complete ass these past few months – not that it’s any different from your normal personality, but somehow you managed to be worse.”
 
He gave me a withering look.  “I loved her, you know,” he started.  I opened my mouth to reply, but he silenced me with a raised finger.  I sighed and conceded.  “I loved her.  I took care of her, treated her well, and made her my wife.  That woman…“ He paused, seemingly to think.  “Tina was perfect.  She was everything I wanted and everything my family expected for me.  The truth should have come out sooner.”
 
“She didn’t know!” I pleaded.  Blake waved off my concern.
 
“It doesn’t matter.  Years of my life, wasted,” he said.
 
I rolled my eyes and pushed off the counter to tend to the abruptly steaming kettle, removing it from the heat.  “That doesn’t give you the right to tear through the country like you’re suffering a midlife crisis.  It’s pathetic.  The divorce hadn’t been finalized yet.  Still hasn’t.”
 
“Maybe not on paper,” he replied.  I shook my head in exasperation.
 
His approach was discreet.  I was reaching for a couple mugs for tea and suddenly he was behind me, hot breath on my neck.  Startled, I lowered my arms, bringing my hands to rest on the countertop.  Blake brought his hands down on either side of mine, effectively caging me.  I lifted my chin and straightened my back as he pressed against it.
 
“Where is my wife?” he whispered in my ear.
 
I drew in a quick breath and answered, “Upstairs, sleeping.  I gave her a sedative to calm her down.”

“Perfect.”  He spun me around, took my face in his hands and suddenly his mouth was on mine, urgent.
 
I dreamt of this moment many times, since the age when girls suddenly noticed boys as primal creatures.  Blake did not disappoint and my lingering eagerness pressed back against his needy lips before reason returned.  I put him at arm’s length, breathing heavily.
 
“No.  We – I can’t do this.  Tina is my best friend!”  Nervous, I bit my lower lip.  His thumb reached up from my neck and slowly pulled it free.  I looked into his slate-colored eyes, beseeching him to understand.  Instead I melted. 
 
As he brought his mouth back to mine, I sighed.  “We’re going to regret this.”
 
Smiling, he said, “Baby, regret is all I have left.”
Disclaimer:  This is a work of fiction. Names, characters, businesses, places, events and incidents are either the products of the author’s imagination or used in a fictitious manner. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, or actual events is purely coincidental.
 

The Legacy: An Affair ©Robin Allen 2016

Characters from The Legacy ©Robin Allen 2015

All rights reserved.  This story, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including recording, photocopying, offset, or by any information storage and retrieval system without permission in writing from the author, except by reviewers who may quote brief passages to be printed in a magazine or newspaper.

12 thoughts on “The Legacy: An Affair

Leave a Reply

