Spreading Wings: A Poem #NationalPoetryMonth

Spreading Wings
I don’t understand
What happened to us –
Our friendship and bond
Of unspoken trust.
You stopped coming around,
My confidence you belittle.
Like a knife to the wood
At my thoughts it would whittle.
Without words, our bond broken
I thought it outrageous,
But I kept pushing through
Thinking it was courageous.
I won’t begin to pretend
Why it’s me you avoid,
But as time marches on
I became more annoyed.
I tried to reach out
With a like or a caption.
No matter my words
I was getting no traction.
It bothered my mind
Like a back of throat tickle
‘Til I came to the conclusion
It was you who was fickle.
And though I feel jaded
My soul slightly marred
I refuse to allow you
To put up my guard.
Now that it’s over
And our time is done,
I hope you don’t think
It is you who has won.
I will move forward
All on my own.
Know that you could not break me;
Instead I have flown.

Spreading Wings Β©Robin Allen 2016

All rights reserved.Β  This poem, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including recording, photocopying, offset, or by any information storage and retrieval system without permission in writing from the author, except by reviewers who may quote brief passages to be printed in a magazine or newspaper.

My words were: courageous, avoid, caption, tickle, guard
Submitted by: My Brain on Kids

This was my last Use Your Words post! After more than two years, it is time to branch out on my own. Don’t be sad, though – I’ll still be posting every Monday and Friday… maybe the occasional Wednesday if I’m feeling frisky.

See you around the blogosphere!

10 thoughts on “Spreading Wings: A Poem #NationalPoetryMonth

Leave a Reply

