Flawed (Flawed #1) by Cecelia Ahern – A Review

I am perfect.
I am imperfect.
I am perfectly imperfect.
I am Flawed.
 
Title: Flawed
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Genre: YA Fiction, Teen, Dystopian
 
Synopsis: Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.
But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.
In this stunning novel, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society in which perfection is paramount and mistakes are punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

(verbatim from website)

It’s a fairly new release – April 5, 2016 – and despite the author’s bestselling titles (including her inaugural novel P.S. I Love You), this was her first young adult novel. It is one hell of a debut!

About the Author: There is a lot to know about Cecelia, so I will send you over to her site for her bio. It’s impressive!
First Impression: The U.S. cover on this book is gorgeous. With its frosted glass dust jacket branded with an F, you can just see what is underneath – a likeness of the main character. It is a style I  have not seen before and I dig it.
Despite the draw of the cover, I am not sure I would have picked this one up, whether judging from the cover or the synopsis. When I received it in the book subscription box OwlCrate, of course I was excited – I mean hello: new book! But it took a few days before I even opened it and a few days after I started it to really get into it. The rest is history… I finished it in a day.
It has been a while since a book has affected me on a visceral level as well as an intellectual one. At first I was unsure what classified this book under the dystopian tag, but it became crystal clear soon enough.
Told in the first person present tense, it can take some getting used to, but at the same time, you connect to the main character on a different level than a more omniscient point of view.
As for the plot, imagine if you were required to be perfect or risk being ousted from society by a Guild formulated specifically to judge you by your indiscretions. When found guilty, they brand you Flawed.
Bad decisions: the temple.
Lie: the tongue.
Steal from society: your right palm.
Disloyalty to the Guild: your chest, over your heart.
Step out of line with society: the sole of your foot.
(taken from the book)
Now imagine you are the epitome of societal expectations until you make a decision… a decision which seems right and everything changes. Your whole life, irreparably changed by simply being human.
There are the required romantic interest, the self-esteem issues, and the drama, but I dare you not to identify with Celestine North.
Final Thoughts: I was disgusted. I laughed and I cheered. I cried. I gasped in moral outrage. And in the end, realized I would have to wait for the sequel.
My Suggestion: Buy. This. Book. Read it. Reread it. Let your teenagers read it. Read it to the dog (or cat). Let it sit for years, then read it again. It will still be relevant.
Other fine retailers
Star Rating:
 

Disclaimer: I have not been compensated in any way for this review and all opinions contained herein are my own and in no way reflect the ideas or opinions of people or sites I may reference.  This is intended for entertainment purposes only.

Leave a Reply

