No Way Out: A Poem

I originally wrote this in high school, but I made a few changes, so here it is:
No Way Out
Pain
I see it all around,
I feel it pull me down
Smother me, holding me;
No way out.
Anger
The pain inside,
Keeping it within –
Held me, stabbing me;
No way out.
Sadness
Tearing my soul,
Coming undone.
Stabbed me, killing me;
No way out.
Emotions
Hot then cold
Out of control.
Killed me, bury me;
No way out.
Breathe
A tightness in my chest
I claw my way through.
Buried me, saving me;
The only way out.

No Way Out Β©Robin Allen 2016

All rights reserved.Β  This poem, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including recording, photocopying, offset, or by any information storage and retrieval system without permission in writing from the author, except by reviewers who may quote brief passages to be printed in a magazine or newspaper.

Leave a Reply

