The Long Last Mile – A Poem



The Long Last Mile

I couldn’t deal with life today
Depression has set in;
Thoughts running away
To find where I had been.

Life has tipped; gone wrong
I cried on simple things.
The day felt way too long
Hung on puppet strings.

Think of lives I could have bore
A happier life shown,
But my heart is bruised and sore
From the life I have known.

I must not dwell on pain and scorn –
Things considerably hard;
All those burdens I have born,
Burned and left me charred.

Told to think a happy thought
One to make me smile
And think less of the pain I sought
Down the long last mile.

When I finish with my travel
Will I then be cured
Of that which will unravel
And happiness endured?

The Long Last Mile Β©Robin Allen 2016

All rights reserved.Β  This poem, or parts thereof, may not be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic or mechanical, including recording, photocopying, offset, or by any information storage and retrieval system without permission in writing from the author, except by reviewers who may quote brief passages to be printed in a magazine or newspaper.

2 thoughts on “The Long Last Mile – A Poem

Leave a Reply

