The Deepest Black by Rainy Kaye – Solo Book Release Day and Review

 Happy Release Day to Rainy Kaye! Her novel The Deepest Black is now available to the masses.

Next week (Friday, June 3) I am hosting a spot on her Book Release Blog Tour, which includes a $10 Amazon Gift Card giveaway. Come back and enter to win!

Title: The Deepest Black
Author: Rainy Kaye
Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy, Adult Fcition

SynopsisEmber has a little problem… fairies want her dead. 

Ember spends her Friday nights lurking in the bad parts of town, killing fairies. It’s either that, or become a victim to their flesh-eating hunger. 

Then she meets Remy, a fae who, despite getting on her nerves, isn’t evil. He tells her that a shadow has been consuming his world, changing its inhabitants and letting destructive beasts into his city. He is searching for his brother who went missing during the catastrophe. 

When a team of mercenaries come for Ember, she has little choice but to join Remy in his quest. Together, they decide to bait a trap. What they find reveals the destruction of the fae world means the end of the human world, too–and it’s Ember’s fault.

(verbatim from Amazon)
 
About the Author: Rainy seems like a cool chick. Here’s her bio, straight from her websiteRainy Kaye is an aspiring overlord. In the mean time, she blogs [here] at RainyoftheDark, edits for amazing authors, and writes paranormal novels all from her lair somewhere in Phoenix, Arizona. Her published works include the SUMMONED series, and the short story BE FEARLESS.
 
She is represented by Rossano Trentin of TZLA. Someone told her she’s a USA Today Bestselling author. She thought there would be cake.
First Impression: Um… killer fairies? Really? This may very well ruin my childhood and no amount of clapping will bring it back.

 

I wanted to find some reference in history or literature that would give you some sense of the plot without giving anything away, because this is a spoiler-free zone. Take the Hatfield and McCoy feud, add a curse, and a smidgen of Romeo and Juliet and that’s all I could come up with. There really isn’t a decent reference point as this story doesn’t compare to anything I have read.


Honestly, I didn’t think I was going to like the story line. Though I follow Rainy Kaye on social media and am on her mailing list, I did not take the chance to read one of her books before now. I have a feeling if I had I would have been better prepared for what I was getting into.

That being said, I never thought I would have to do this, but I feel a warning is applicable here. In my head, this book rates somewhere in between PG-13 and NC-17, so if your kid wants to read it, read it first to better gauge how it will be received. 

The book moves at a brisk pace… and by brisk I mean non-stop action. I swear Ember, the main character, never gets a chance to breathe throughout the whole story. Not that it stopped her, but what stopped me (momentarily) was the sudden appearance of foul language. I did a double take and sure enough, there is was… the infamous F-Bomb. But don’t let a little thing like that throw you off. This is just a friendly warning.

I’m no stranger to the underbelly of language in literature and I wasn’t deterred now. I can gloss over or revel in each punctuated vulgarity – it makes no difference. And she even used phrases I had only heard in impolite conversations and around the blogosphere, which made my day. How often do you hear the term ‘asshat’ outside of raunchy blogs and filthy mouths? There are also a few undisguised sexual innuendos, which was pretty awesome too – but no actual sex, so you’re safe there.

It’s one of the reasons I loved the story so much – Ember is down-to-earth, so to speak, and doesn’t hold back. People will relate to her brash yet tentatively vulnerable humanity. 

Final Thoughts: It is seriously hard to put this book down because there is always something happening. I felt bad for Ember. But I think you will like her and want to hear her story. As for the killer fairies? Childhood memories are safe from their grasp – these aren’t your normal fair folk.

My Suggestion: Foul language and innuendos aside, the plot is intriguing. Grab this one up quick while it is still available for $0.99. It’s a small price to pay for a great read and you never know when the price will go up.

This title is only available through the Kindle store from Amazon (as of right now). Remember, you do not need to own a Kindle in order to read or own Kindle books. There’s an app for that.
 

Star Rating:



Disclaimer: I have not been compensated in any way for this review and all opinions contained herein are my own and in no way reflect the ideas or opinions of people or sites I may reference.  This is intended for entertainment purposes only.

Leave a Reply

