The Merciless/The Merciless II – A Review

As Election Day is coming to a close here in the United States, you can feel the blanket of overwhelming oppression seeping into the very bones of our once great country. There are no winners today, friends.

In other news, you came back! That makes me happy.

Someone put their crazy pants on, because I’m doing another joint review! Not as extensive as the last one but to be honest, these books were simpler than the others.

img_20160823_185758

Title: The Merciless

Author: Danielle Vega (Danielle Rollins)

Genre: Horror, YA Fiction

Summary: Sofia just moved to a new school and to her surprise she is befriended by the IT girls – perfect and pious. The girls say they want to save Brooklyn, the strange outcast who seems taken with Sofia. How far will they go when a girl’s soul is on the line?

Released: June 2014 / Read: September 2016

About the Author: Danielle Rollins is the author of the upcoming teen thriller BURNING (2016, Bloomsbury) as well as the horror novels THE MERCILESS, THE MERCILESS II: THE EXORCISM OF SOFIA FLORES, and SURVIVE THE NIGHT (Razorbill, written as Danielle Vega). She lives in Brooklyn, NY and spends far too much money on vintage furniture and leather boots. (verbatim from her website here)

First Impression: It’s been a while since I read any young adult horror (hello R.L. Stine!). Let’s see how much has changed.

divider-pentagram

It is hard being the new girl. Sofia Flores knows this all to well, being a military dependent. On her first day of school, she has low expectations. When the popular girls take notice, she is brought into their fold, but before long things get biblical. In this intense, action-packed thriller things aren’t always what they seem and you may find evil in unlikely places.

Okay. Simply put, this book is about an exorcism – by teenage girls on their classmate. I mean, what could go wrong with that, right?

Even a couple of months after reading it, I’m still unsure whether I enjoyed her writing style or if my enjoyment of the book was merely entrenched in my love for all things horror related. It was definitely an intense read – a quick thrill ride. Much like a good roller coaster, the story has extreme ups and downs, then tosses you around and leaves you with whiplash.

With a heavy dose of adrenaline, you’ll be begging for more. Add in the plot twists, it’s the perfect recipe for a good time, one-night-stand style.

Final Thoughts: Ummm. Ew. How can there be more to this!? Oh. Right.

Star Rating:

divider-starsfour

img_20160930_175728

Title: The Merciless II: The Exorcism of Sofia Flores

Summary: After tragic events occur, Sofia is sent to Catholic boarding school. She works hard to put the past behind her, but it seems the past will not be denied. Is it all in her head or is there something seriously wrong with Sofia?

Released: July 2016 / Read: October 2016

First Impression: I wish I had picked this up at the same time as the first. It was like torture, waiting to see how the story would continue.

divider-pentagram-2

Sofia is working hard to forget recent events but with visions of blood and violence, she’s struggling. All she wants to do is start over someplace new. When a new tragedy strikes close to home, she gets her wish … sort of. The past seems a distant memory until one fateful confession sends her life into a spiral – again. The stakes are personal in this battle between real and imagination, good versus evil.

Again with the teenage exorcism! Seriously – if it wasn’t for the racing plot that had me reading straight through to the end, I would find the whole idea ridiculous. It’s strangely addicting though. Personally I don’t find it scary, but I can see why some people would.

Once again it is an intense read, just like the first one. That ending though! Wow. It’s endings like this that keep me coming back for more. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

Final Thoughts: Well. That ended … unexpectedly. Bravo, because I did NOT see it coming!

Star Rating:

divider-starsfour

Disclaimer: I have not been compensated in any way for this review and all opinions contained herein are my own and in no way reflect the ideas or opinions of people or sites I may reference.  This is intended for entertainment purposes only.

2 thoughts on “The Merciless/The Merciless II – A Review

  1. I have my copies – can’t wait to dive in to the roller coaster ride! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, it keeps reminding me about fantastic books I’ve sitting on my TBR waiting for attention 🙂

    • I’m glad I could help. I know how hard it is to have a never-ending TBR list and not know what to read next! Thanks for taking the time to comment – it means a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

